Thailand Travel Guide For Kids

Thailand Travel Guide For Kids

Flag of ThailandThailand is officially called the Kingdom of Thailand, most likely due to it’s fantastic history and thousands of palaces and temples which can be found all over the country. Some are still in use whilst others are now just ruins covered in overgrown jungle.

The country is divided into the four regions: Northern Thailand, Northeastern Thailand, Central Thailand and Southern Thailand where you will find Bangkok, the capital of Thailand. These 4 regions are made up of 76 provinces which in turn are split into 877 districts.

Outside of Bangkok, one of the most popular areas for tourists is the Andaman Sea in the Southern Thailand region which is only a short flight away. This area is famous for  beautiful islands such as Phuket, Phi Phi Islands, Ko Tapu and islands of Krabi Province. Stunning beaches lined with jungles and mountains sit alongside fantastic coral reefs which are excellent for snorkeling and scuba diving.


The four regions of Thailand:

Northern Thailand

Northeastern Thailand

Central Thailand

Southern Thailand – Bangkok


Quick Facts:

Population: 69,183,173 (2018)

Languages Spoken: Thai (official), Lao, Kham Muang, Pak Tai, Northern Khmer, Yawi

Currency: Thai Baht

Capital City: Bangkok